Disney Cruise Line is an American cruise ship company owned by The Walt
Disney Company and headquartered in Celebration, Florida. The business is run
by President Tom McAlpin as part of the Walt Disney Parks and Resorts division.
It operates two ships, the Disney Magic and the Disney Wonder, along with
Castaway Cay, a private island in the Bahamas designed as an exclusive port of
call for Disney's ships.
The Disney Magic began operation July 30, 1998. The Disney Wonder began
operation August 15, 1999. The ships each contain 875 staterooms [1] and are
virtually identical in their design, with a few variations in restaurants and
entertainment venues. Both contain areas designed exclusively for various age
groups, including toddlers, young children, teens, and adults.
They are the first in the industry to be designed and built from the keel up as
family cruise liners, with the goal of accommodating parents and children. Unlike
most ships of their type, they do not include casinos.
Unlike most ship's horns, which have a single or two-tone sound, the horns on both
Disney ships play a seven-note melody from When You Wish Upon a Star.
Disney Cruise Line was created in 1995 when the company commissioned its two
ships at Fincantieri in Italy, ending an arrangement with Premier Cruises for the
maritime segment of its vacation packages.
1 World Tour & Travel Services